ESA2020 Blog Post

Like most trade fairs and conferences this year, the seventh European Symposium on Aerobiology (ESA 2020) give way to the virus. We are glad that this important event could still take place online. Not only because we appreciate the exchange in the community, but also because the latest scientific knowledge drives our developments.

The importance and diversity of aerobiology

The ESA 2020 conference programme was characterized by a great variety of presentations, posters and scientific exchange. A small summary of these is presented in this article.

Agriculture and aerobiology

Agriculture is of great importance for aerobiology. Be it in the prediction of crop yield or the more sustainable use of crop protection products. The keywords here are: Sustainable agriculture and precision farming. Aerobiology serves as an instrument for the defence of the ecosystem. In the scientific study by Raúl Guzmán Rodríguez, the pollen concentration of olive trees is directly related to their yield and shows that automatic pollen measurement is also interesting for agriculture and can provide profitable data. Real-time data can also contribute to an ecologically sustainable approach to agriculture and make the use of pesticides more effective and environmentally friendly.

Pollen allergy in constant focus

The fact that pollen allergy is not the only focus of aerobiology has been confirmed several times. Aerobiology covers various disciplines from agriculture to human health. However, the fact that pollen allergy is still one of the most important topics is shown by research results of Karl-Christian Bergmann and the German Pollen Information Service Foundation. A pollen allergy can have a negative influence on children's school grades and have a noticeable effect on their performance - to name just one example. His appeal at this point is that a closer cooperation between aerobiology and medicine must be strived for. With this conviction, a solid basis for a better future for millions of people in Europe will be created. In addition to the latest research results, we are also venturing a look into the future.

A look into the future

The prospects in aerobiology are promising and show that we are on the right track with Swisens. Research and science will never run out of work, and we want to support and work closely with them. Real-time data opens the door to a much finer understanding of the factors that influence aerobiological processes. Or as Bernard Clot wonderfully summarizes in his lecture: "Real-time measurements allow a quantum leap in pollen flight prediction and in the development of applications for a wide range of end users".

"Real-time measurements allow a quantum leap in pollen flight prediction and in the development of applications for a wide range of end users".

Bernard Clot, ESA 2020

The science of aerobiology is looking into a bright future with exciting challenges. Together we want to take on these challenges. We would like to take this opportunity to thank the organizational committee for the smooth implementation of the ESA 2020 and the whole community for the many impressions, presentations and discussions about aerobiology. 

A special week for Swisens

The whole week is given a golden frame by the release of SwisensPoleno Mars. The new solution for real-time pollen information. We are very pleased with the many positive reactions to our new system and look forward to presenting SwisensPoleno Mars to the participants of the launching event on 28th January 2021. The Registration for the virtual event is open and we look forward to your registration.

SwisensPoleno Mars real-time pollen monitor front
http://www.swisens.ch/mars

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
en_GBEnglish (UK)
Thank you very much,

that you have registered for this webinar.

You have received a confirmation of your registration by e-mail.

ESA2020 Blog Post

Wie die meisten Messen und Konferenzen in diesem Jahr, musste auch das siebte Europäische Symposium für Aerobiologie (ESA 2020) dem Virus weichen. Wir sind froh, dass dieser wichtige Event trotzdem online stattfinden konnte. Nicht nur weil wir den Austausch in der Community schätzen, sondern weil uns auch der neuste Stand der Wissenschaft unsere Entwicklungen vorantreibt.

Die Wichtigkeit und Vielfalt der Aerobiologie

Das Konferenzprogramm der ESA 2020 war geprägt von einer grossen Vielfalt an Präsentationen, Posters und wissenschaftlichem Austausch. Einen kleinen Zusammenschnitt halten wir in diesem Beitrag fest.

Landwirtschaft und Aerobiologie

Die Landwirtschaft ist für die Aerobiologie von grosser Bedeutung. Sei es in der Vorhersage vom Ernteertrag oder dem nachhaltigeren Umgang mit Pflanzenschutzmittel. Die Schlagwörter dazu sind: Nachhaltige Landwirtschaft und Präzisionslandwirtschaft. Die Aerobiologie dient dabei als Instrument für die Verteidigung des Ökosystems. In der wissenschaftlichen Untersuchung von Raúl Guzmán Rodríguez steht die Pollenkonzentration von Olivenbäumen im direkten Zusammenhang mit deren Ernteertrag und zeigt, dass die automatische Pollenmessung auch für die Landwirtschaft interessant ist und gewinnbringende Daten liefern kann. Ebenfalls können Echtzeit-Daten zu einem ökologisch nachhaltigen Ansatz der Landwirtschaft beitragen und den Einsatz von Pestiziden effektiver und umweltschonender machen.

Pollenallergie im konstanten Fokus

Dass nicht nur die Pollenallergie im Zentrum von Aerobiologie steht, ist mehrmals bestätigt worden. Die Aerobiologie umfasst verschiedene Disziplinen von der Landwirtschaft bis zur Gesundheit des Menschen. Dass die Pollenallergie aber immer noch zu den wichtigen Themen gehört, zeigen Forschungsergebnisse von Karl-Christian Bergmann und der Stiftung Deutscher Polleninformationsdienst. Eine Pollenallergie kann einen negativen Einfluss auf die Schulnoten von Kinder haben und die Leistungsfähigkeit der Betroffenen merkbar beeinflussen – um nur ein Beispiel zu nennen. Sein Aufruf an dieser Stelle ist, dass eine engere Zusammenarbeit von Aerobiologie und Medizin angestrebt werden muss. Mit dieser Überzeugung schafft man damit eine solide Basis für eine bessere Zukunft für Millionen von Menschen in Europa. Neben den jüngsten Forschungsergebnissen wagen wir auch einen Blick in die Zukunft.

Ein Blick in die Zukunft

Die Aussichten in der Aerobiologie sind vielversprechend und zeigen, dass wir mit Swisens auf dem richtigen Weg sind. Der Forschung und Wissenschaft wird die Arbeit nie ausgehen und wir wollen dabei unterstützend und in enger Zusammenarbeit mitwirken. Echtzeit-Daten öffnen die Tür für ein viel feineres Verständnis der Faktoren, die aerobiologische Prozesse beeinflussen. Oder wie Bernard Clot in seinem Vortrag wundervoll zusammenfasst: «Echtzeit-Messungen ermöglichen einen Quantensprung bei der Pollenflug-Vorhersage und bei der Entwicklung von Anwendungen für ein breites Spektrum von Endnutzern.»

«Echtzeit-Messungen ermöglichen einen Quantensprung bei der Pollenflug-Vorhersage und bei der Entwicklung von Anwendungen für ein breites Spektrum von Endnutzern.»

Bernard Clot, ESA 2020

Die Wissenschaft der Aerobiologie blickt in eine leuchtende Zukunft mit spannenden Herausforderungen. Gemeinsam wollen wir diese Herausforderungen annehmen. Wir bedanken uns an dieser Stelle beim organisatorischen Komitee für die reibungslose Durchführung der ESA 2020 und der gesamten Community für die vielen Eindrücke, Präsentationen und Diskussionen rund um die Aerobiologie. 

Eine besondere Woche für Swisens

Die ganze Woche erhält noch einen goldenen Rahmen durch die Veröffentlichung von SwisensPoleno Mars. Die neue Lösung für Echtzeit-Polleninformationen. Wir sind sehr erfreut über die vielen positiven Reaktionen zu unserem neuen System und freuen uns, den SwisensPoleno Mars am 28. Januar 2021 den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern des Launching Events vorzustellen. Die Registrierung für den virtuellen Anlass ist offen und wir freuen uns auf ihre Anmeldung.

SwisensPoleno Mars real-time pollen monitor front
http://www.swisens.ch/mars

Teilen Sie diesen Beitrag

Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf email
de_DEDeutsch
Vielen Dank,

dass Sie sich für dieses Webinar registriert haben.

Sie haben eine Bestätigung Ihrer Anmeldung per E-Mail erhalten.